My Time on the Emerald Isle

JULY 24, 2023

Experience, travel — these are an education in themselves.  This quote from Greek author Euripedes reflects the collective impact the Master of Business Administration (MBA) International Trip in Dublin, Ireland had on my life.  Ever since I learned about the option to include the trip in my studies, I envisioned it as part of my UTD MBA experience.  Dublin was originally slated to be the trip destination in March 2022.  However, in Fall 2021, all UTD’s international trips were postponed until Spring 2023, due to the ongoing effects of the COVID-19 pandemic.

As the saying goes, “Good things come to those who wait.”  When the Spring 2023 semester rolled around, Dublin was re-announced as the destination and the Spring Break trip would overlap with Saint Patrick’s Day, a significant cultural holiday honoring Ireland’s foremost patron saint.  I was eager to participate in the trip and International Management Studies class because of my interest in international relations, cross-cultural learning and communications, and a personal goal to travel more; it would also be my first time traveling internationally!  Following a smooth application process and my acceptance into the trip, I was thankful to receive scholarships from the International Education Scholarship Fund and Jindal School of Management. These were extremely helpful to offset the program costs, enabling students from various backgrounds and situations to participate in a memorable educational experience.

During three Saturday morning classes before the trip, my classmates and I prepared by learning about Ireland’s history, culture, and business relations. 

We enjoyed presentations from classmates about various topics, as well as hearing from guest speakers with Irish ties.  One of the most interesting guest speakers was Consul General Robert Hull, who visited us from the Consulate General of Ireland’s Austin, Texas office.  After many years as a professional diplomat in Europe, he spoke about relocating to Texas and his reflections about Ireland’s impact across the world. 

For my group’s pre-trip presentation, we presented about the Irish culture and tips to know when doing business with the Irish.  For example, it is critical to build meaningful relationships and interactions are much more than “getting down to business”.  In addition to being Europe’s youngest population, Irish professionals are also highly educated because advanced education is affordable and strongly encouraged in the country.  My group had a great time collaborating and helping our class understand a glimpse of the Irish culture, before heading there to gain firsthand experience.

Prior to Dublin, I made a larger trip of it and was thankful to visit a few other European countries like Italy and Switzerland.  After a week of personal travels with my partner, I flew to Dublin to meet my classmates.  This was the first MBA trip where students from various program formats attended, including the Full-Time MBA, Professional Flex and Online MBA, and Professional Evening Cohort (my program).  It was a pleasure to connect with new people and build camaraderie over our shared experiences as MBA students.  As we embarked on company and site visits, each of us were equipped with foundational knowledge from our classes and ready to learn directly from Irish leaders.  Our learnings included a panel discussion and presentations from Citi Bank, Smurfit Kappa, CRH, and University College Dublin.  The element that stood out to me most was many of the firms’ commitment to Environmental Social Governance (ESG), including sustainability and diversity, equity, and inclusion (DE&I).  Many speakers weaved in authentic stories about the importance of employee development and creating inclusive workplaces where people across various dimensions of diversity can thrive.  As a DE&I professional, I was pleased to learn about Europe’s commitment to this work and their employees – the people who are the heart of what makes organizations successful.  This commitment rang true in Dublin.

When our learning activities were complete, we explored cultural sites like Saint Patrick’s Cathedral, with its striking architecture as the largest cathedral in Ireland.  At Trinity College, we viewed the historic manuscript Book of Kells, a medieval Gaelic harp representing the national symbol of Ireland, and captured photos in The Old Library and Long Room.

My Evening Cohort classmates and I also snapped a photo together near Samuel Beckett Bridge, whose shape is said to reflect the image of a harp lying on its side.  As the trip was nearing its finale, we visited the Guinness Storehouse at St. James’s Gate Brewery, a seven-floor tribute to Guinness, Ireland’s iconic stout beer.  On the last full day of the trip, we had a free day to enjoy the local St. Patrick’s Day festivities.  The 2023 Parade and Festival returned to full capacity for the first time since the pandemic; this year was equally significant to honor the 100-year anniversary of Ireland’s presence in the world, following the important theme of unity, Mar a Chéile Sinn, meaning “We Are One” in the Gaelic language.

After returning home, we reflected on our experiences through a few assignments, including a video project and post-trip presentations to summarize our learnings, interactions with the Irish locals, and memories gained while in Dublin.  As a whole, I am filled with gratitude that I was able to fulfill my vision to travel internationally with other MBA students and be exposed to business operations and culture in Western Europe. 

Above all, I gained new life experiences that I will always cherish when looking back on my studies and this period of my life.  The Emerald Isle, a common nickname describing Ireland’s vast greenery, holds a special place with me and I cannot wait to return in the future.

Your feet will bring you to where your heart is. – Irish Proverb
Karyne Nguyen, MBA International Trip in Dublin, Ireland, Spring Break 2023